Another new year and another new decade of marketing. Phew!
A vast number of new apps, programmes and social media platforms have taken off over the past 10 years, but one of the main advertising platforms that
has stuck around, is Google Ads.
Google Ads has been the go-to online advertising platform for many years now, only really being tested by the introduction of Facebook Ads.
But this leads to the question; Is it worth running Google Ads for your business in [2020]?
The short answer is yes, but only if you know what you're doing.
I've managed multiple Google Ad campaigns for a range of businesses over the past 3 years and I can safely say, Google Ads still works exceptionally well,
if not better than it used to.
Google has enough marketing data to do a lot of your work FOR you
Google has introduced a range of new, automated systems, to not only help manage much of your work for you, but to also improve the accuracy of your audience
targeting.
There are three crucial features which have benefitted us and our clients, which I believe on their own, makes Google Ads so effective in what it does.
1. Google Ads Bidding Strategy
The first feature would have to be the introduction of the 'bidding strategy'. This essentially allows you to maximise your bids in order to increase click
through rate or conversion rate.
Google analyses the behaviour of users who choose to click your advert or those who have converted on your website through your ads.
They then find users with similar behaviour and make sure your adverts are shown to them.
2. Responsive Adverts
'Responsive Adverts' allows you to insert multiple headlines and descriptions and even suggests custom headlines. It then tests different combinations
of headlines and descriptions to create adverts which drive the most clicks and conversions.
3. Google Recommendations
Google regularly monitors your account and suggests changes you can make, to improve your account. It even provides a button which activates the suggested
change for you!
'But Google Ads are way more expensive than they used to be and I can't afford that!'
One of the main concerns with Google Ads, is that it's too expensive to be feasible, especially for smaller businesses.
Without a doubt, the cost of someone clicking on your advert (cost per click) has increased significantly since Google Ads took off and I understand your
unease when Google tells you it can be up to £10 for a single click on one of your adverts.
However, when you put into perspective the price of your services compared to the price of your clicks, you can start to see the return on investment and
the benefits of using Google Ads for your business.
For example:
If you offer a car detailing service and your service is £60 and your cost per click is £2, then you need to convert 1 out of 30 clicks to make your money
back.
The average conversion rate through Google adverts is 5-7%, which means from 60 clicks, you should receive around 3-4 bookings.
60 clicks would cost you around £120 and 4 bookings would generate £240 of business, doubling the money which was originally spent on adverts.
I understand these figures are just an example, but our clients have all experienced how effective running optimised Google Ad campaigns can really be.
However, as much as we've praised Google Ads for their effectiveness, they do need to be managed correctly in order for them to perform at their full potential.
If you're interested in starting your own Google Ads campaign/s or need any help managing any campaigns running currently, we're here to help.
Please give us a call on 01243 888555, contact us here or even pop into our Chichester-based
office.
Thanks for reading!